Begin Main Content Area

Air Quality Emission Standards

The Clean Air Act requires the EPA to promulgate regulations establishing emission standards for each category or subcategory of major sources and area sources of hazardous air pollutants. These regulations are called National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants, or NESHAPS. The standards must require the maximum degree of emission reduction that the EPA determines to be achievable by each particular source category. These controls are referred to as Maximum Achievable Control Technology, or MACT.

MACT NESHAP Delegation

On January 5, 1998 EPA granted PA partial delegation of all NESHAPs (MACT) categories located at major sources.

On Nov. 13, 2001 EPA approved delegation to Pennsylvania of 5 Area Source MACTS:

  • Subpart M - Perchloroethylene Dry Cleaners
  • Subpart N - Chromium Electroplaters
  • Subpart T - Halogenated Solvent Degreasers
  • Subpart O - Ethylene Oxide Sterilizers
  • Subpart X - Secondary Lead Smelters

On Jan. 5, 2011 EPA granted Pennsylvania delegation of 12 Area Source MACTS:

  • Subpart AAAA - Municipal Solid Waste Landfills
  • Subpart BBBBBB - Gasoline Distribution Bulk Terminal, Bulk Plant and Pipeline Facilities
  • Subpart EEE - Hazardous Waste Combustors
  • Subpart LLL - Portland Cement Manufacturing
  • Subpart NNNNNN - Chemical Manufacturing Area Sources: Chromium Compounds
  • Subpart OOOOOO - Flexible Polyurethane Foam Fabrication and Production Area Sources
  • Subpart PPPPPP - Lead Acid Battery Manufacturing Area Sources
  • Subpart RRRRRR - Clay Ceramics Manufacturing Area Sources
  • Subpart SSSSSS - Glass Manufacturing Area Sources
  • Subpart TTTTTT - Secondary Nonferrous Metals Processing Area Sources
  • Subpart YYYYY - Electric Arc Furnace Steelmaking Facilities
  • Subpart ZZZZZ - Iron and Steel Foundries Area Sources

The process that the department will follow in establishing MACT standards in Plan Approvals can be found at 25 PA Code Section 127.35.