Begin Main Content Area

Radioactive Waste

The Nuclear Safety Division has established a comprehensive radioactive waste program. The program monitors low-level radioactive waste (LLRW) generation within Pennsylvania and prepares an annual report for submittal to the General Assembly. The LLRW program also monitors the Department of Energy's development of a permanent repository for disposal of spent nuclear fuel (SNF) and high-level radioactive waste (HLRW) and transportation of SNF and HLRW. As of Jan. 1, 1999, the LLRW program assumed the administrative duties of the Appalachian States LLRW Compact Commission. The commission represents the four party states of Delaware, Maryland, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia.

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) Regulatory Issue Summary 2008-12, "Considerations for Extended Interim Storage of Low-Level Radioactive Waste by Fuel Cycle and Materials Licensees"

Low-Level Radioactive Waste Program Annual Reports