Begin Main Content Area

Pennsylvania Watershed Implementation Plan - Archive

Phase 3 Watershed Implementation Planning Steering Committee and Workgroups

Steering Committee

  • Chair: Patrick McDonnell, Secretary, Department of Environmental Protection (DEP)
  • Russell Redding, Secretary, Department of Agriculture
  • Cindy Dunn, Secretary, Department of Conservation and Natural Resources
  • Representative Garth Everett, Chair, Chesapeake Bay Commission
  • Karl Brown, Executive Secretary, State Conservation Commission
  • Drew Dehoff, Executive Director, Susquehanna River Basin Commission
  • Carlton Haywood, Executive Director, Interstate Commission of the Potomac River Basin
  • Brion Johnson, Executive Director, Pennsylvania Infrastructure Investment Authority
  • Nicki Kasi and Kristen Wolf, DEP Chesapeake Bay Office (Staff to the Committee)
  • Co-Chairs of Workgroups

Agriculture Workgroup


  • John Bell, Pennsylvania Farm Bureau
  • Doug Goodlander, Pennsylvania Department of Protection
  • Greg Hostetter, Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture
  • Matt Royer, Penn State University and Pennsylvania in the Balance Steering Committee


  • Karl Brown, State Conservation Commission
  • Bill Chain, Chesapeake Bay Foundation
  • Andrew Flinchbaugh, York County, Crops, Produce/Nursery and Swine
  • David Graybill, Juniata County, Small Dairy Operation, Poultry
  • James Harbach, Clinton County, Large Dairy Operation
  • Jeff Hill, Lancaster County Conservation District
  • James Junkin, Franklin County, Turkeys and Swine, Crops
  • Jennifer Reed-Harry, Penn Ag Industries
  • Jennifer Schuler, Bell and Evans
  • Chris Sigmund, TeamAg
  • James Van Blarcom, Bradford County, Dairy and Swine

Coordinator: Jill Whitcomb, Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection

Communications and Engagement Workgroup


  • Katie Hetherington-Cunfer, Director, DEP Office of External Affairs
  • Marcus Kohl, Regional Director, Northcentral Regional Office
  • Jayne Sebright, Executive Director, Center for Dairy Excellence


  • Kevin Sunday, Director of Government Affairs, Pennsylvania Chamber of Business and Industry
  • Penny McCoy, ED Rural Water Association
  • Elizabeth Hinkel, President, Pennsylvania Corn Growers Assoc
  • Carly Dean, Project Manager, Chesapeake Conservancy
  • Mary Gattis, Local Government Advisory Committee Coordinator, Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay
  • Jenna Mitchell, Pennsylvania State Director, Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay
  • Dan Zimmerman, Warwick Township Manager
  • Kelly Donaldson, Communications Lead, PA Sea Grant
  • William Zeiders, Director of Digital Media and Marketing, PA Farm Bureau

Coordinators: Kristen Wolf, Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection

Forestry Workgroup


  • Katie Ombalski, Woods and Waters Consulting
  • Matt Keefer, Department of Conservation and Natural Resources


  • Molly Cheatum, Chesapeake Bay Foundation
  • Ryan Davis, Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay
  • William Elmendorf, Penn State University Extension
  • Matthew Ehrhart or Lamonte Garber, Stroud Water Research Center
  • Andrew Louza, Pennsylvania Land Trust Association
  • Roger Rohrer, R Farm, Strasburg, PA
  • Alan Sam, State College Borough
  • Lori Yeich, Department of Conservation of Natural Resources
  • Jacqui Bonomo, PennFutures

Coordinator: Teddi Stark, Pennsylvania Department of Conservation and Natural Resources

Funding Workgroup


  • Representative Garth Everett
  • Brion Johnson, Pennvest
  • Marel King, Chesapeake Bay Commission


  • Jeff Clukey, House Appropriations Committee
  • John Dawes, Bay Funders Network Representative
  • Brian Eckert, Pennsylvania Department of Community and Economic Development
  • John Guyer, Senate Appropriations Committee
  • Peter Hughes, Red Barn
  • Billy Joraskie, Senate Appropriations Committee
  • Charlotte Katzenmoyer, Lancaster City Department of Public Works
  • Ritchie LaFaver, House Appropriations Committee
  • Bob Lamb, PennVest Financial Advisor
  • Megan Lehman, DEP Williamsport Office
  • Jenn Cotting, Environmental Finance Center
  • Sarah Nicholas, Department of Conservation and Natural Resources
  • Natalie Sabadish, Governor’s Budget Office
  • Joe Sweeney, Water Science Institute
  • Naomi Soon Young, Center for Regional Analysis

Coordinator: Jill Whitcomb, Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection

Local Area Goals, Priority Areas, and Practices Workgroup


  • Lisa Schaeffer, County Commissioners Association
  • Davitt Woodwell, Pennsylvania Environmental Council


  • Harry Campbell, Chesapeake Bay Foundation
  • Carol Collier, The Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University
  • Nate Dewing, Bradford County Conservation District
  • Matt Ehrhart, Stroud Water Research Center
  • Bill Fink, Country View Family Farms
  • Adrienne Gemberling, Chesapeake Conservancy, Susquehanna University Natural Sciences Center
  • Kara Kalupson, MS4 Coordinator, Rettew
  • Pam Shellenberger, York County Planning Commission
  • John Thomas, Hampden Township Board of Commissioners
  • Chris Thompson, Lancaster County Conservation District

Coordinator: Kristen Wolf, Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection

Stormwater Workgroup


  • Felicia Dell, York County Planning Commission
  • Sean Furjanic, Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection


  • Paul Bruder, Attorney, Rhoads and Sinon
  • Mike Jeffers, Kinsley Properties, Developer and Consultant
  • Teddie Kreitz, Municipal Consultant, Keller Engineers
  • Jeremy Miller, MS4 Governmental Representative-Large, Hampden Township
  • Seth Noll, MS4 Governmental Representative-Small, Yoe Borough
  • Liz Ottinger, EPA Region 3
  • Renee Reber, Chesapeake Bay Foundation
  • Daryl St Clair, Pennsylvania Department of Transportation
  • Brian Seipp, Center for Watershed Protection

Coordinator: Lee Murphy, Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection

Wastewater Workgroup


  • John Brosious, Pennsylvania Municipal Authorities Association
  • Jay Patel, Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection


  • Bernard R. Biga, Director of Operations, Wyoming Valley Sanitary Authority
  • Brian Book, Director of Energy and Environmental Engineering, Rettew
  • John Brossman, Manager/Engineer, Lower Allen Township Authority
  • Ed Ellinger, Director of Water & Wastewater Service Group, Herbert, Rowland & Grubic, Inc.
  • Shannon Gority, Chief Executive Officer, Capital Region Water
  • Steve Hann, Principal, Hamburg, Rubin, Mullin, Maxwell & Lupin 
  • Mike Kyle, Executive Director, Lancaster Area Sewer Authority
  • Cory Miller, Executive Director, University Area Joint Authority
  • Wayne Schutz, Executive Director, Derry Township Municipal Authority
  • Wendy Walter, Director of Compliance, Safety, and Security, Williamsport Sanitary Authority
  • R. Timothy Weston, Partner, K&L Gates

Coordinator: Brian Schlauderaff, Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection

Phase 3 WIP Steering Committee: Meeting Minutes and Handouts


Expand AllClick here for a more accessible version

 Content Editor

Phase 3 WIP Workgroup Products

Past Phase 3 Events and Outreach

Pennsylvania's Phase 3 Watershed Implementation Plan: From a County Leader's Perspective – April 23, 2019

County-Level Participation in Phase 3 WIP Planning: Webinar, July 10, 2018

Phase 3 WIP Community Clean Water Toolbox Stakeholder Meeting

Pennsylvania’s Final Phase 1 Chesapeake WIP

Pennsylvania’s Final Phase 2 Chesapeake WIP

Pennsylvania’s Chesapeake Bay Tributary Strategy – Executive Summary (PDF)

TMDL and Milestones