Skip Navigation LinksDEP > Public Participation > Environmental Quality Board (EQB) > EQB Membership List

EQB Membership List

Powers and Duties

The Environmental Quality Board (EQB) was established by Act 275 of 1970, Section 1920-A of the Administrative Code of April 9, 1929, as amended, to do the following:

  1. Develop a Master Environmental Plan for the commonwealth.
  2. Formulate, adopt and promulgate rules and regulations as necessary to accomplish the Department of Environmental Protection's work.
  3. Have power to subpoena witnesses and records.
  4. Review reports and advise the department on matters of policy.

Board Composition (20 members)

11 Members

Chairperson, Secretary of Environmental Protection
Secretary of Health
Secretary of Community and Economic Development
Secretary of Transportation
Secretary of Agriculture
Secretary of Labor & Industry
Executive Director of Fish and Boat Commission
Executive Director of Game Commission
Chairperson of Public Utility Commission
Executive Director of Historical & Museum Commission
Executive Director of the State Planning Board

5 Members - Citizens Advisory Council

(Elected annually by members of Citizens Advisory Council)

4 Members - General Assembly - one to be appointed by each of the following:

President Pro Tempore of Senate
Senate Minority Leader
Speaker of House of Representatives
House Minority Leader

Term

State Agency Members - consistent with term of agency appointment;
House and Senate Members - at the pleasure of the legislative leaders;
Citizens Advisory Council Members - elected annually by members of the Citizens Advisory Council.

Voting

All Board Members may designate alternates with voting privileges in accordance with Sections 213 and 471 of the Administrative Code. Eight members of the Board constitute a quorum.

Meetings

Meetings are held the third Tuesday of every month in the Rachel Carson State Office Building (RCSOB), 400 Market St., Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. Special meetings and hearings are held at the discretion of the EQB. Meetings are open to the public; however, public statements are not permitted at the EQB meetings. EQB public hearings may be scheduled to solicit public comments on proposed regulations.

CHAIRPERSON

Honorable Patrick McDonnell, Secretary of Environmental Protection
16th Floor, Rachel Carson State Office Building
400 Market Street
Harrisburg, PA 17101
pmcdonnell@pa.gov

BOARD MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES:

Department of Health
 
MEMBER ALTERNATE
Honorable Dr. Rachel Levine
Acting Secretary of Health
Room 802, Health & Welfare Building
Harrisburg, PA 17120
ralevine@pa.gov
Sharon Watkins
Department of Health, Health & Welfare Building
Harrisburg, PA 17120
shawatkins@pa.gov
 
Department of Community and Economic Development
 
MEMBER ALTERNATE
Honorable Dennis Davin
Secretary of Community and Economic Development
400 North Street
Keystone Building, 4th Floor
Harrisburg, PA 17120
ddavin@pa.gov
Denise Brinley
Department of Community and Economic Development
400 North Street
Keystone Building, 4th Floor
Harrisburg, PA 17120
dbrinley@pa.gov
 
Department of Transportation
 
MEMBER ALTERNATE
Honorable Leslie Richards
Secretary of Transportation
Keystone Building, 8th Floor West
Harrisburg, PA 17120
lsrichards@pa.gov
Roger Cohen
Department of Transportation
Keystone Building
8th Floor West
Harrisburg, PA 17120
rogecohen@pa.gov
 
Department of Agriculture
 
MEMBER ALTERNATE
Honorable Russell Redding
Secretary of Agriculture
Room 211, Agriculture Building
2301 North Cameron Street
Harrisburg, PA 17110
rredding@pa.gov
Michael F. Smith
Department of Agriculture
Room 211, Agriculture Building
2301 North Cameron Street
Harrisburg, PA 17110
mfsmith@pa.gov
 
Department of Labor and Industry
 
MEMBER ALTERNATE
Honorable Robert O'Brien
Acting Secretary of Labor & Industry
Room 1700, Labor & Industry Building
7th & Forster Streets
Harrisburg, PA 17120
robeobrien@pa.gov
Eileen Cipriani
Department of Labor & Industry
Labor & Industry Building
7th & Forster Streets
Harrisburg, PA 17120
ecipriani@pa.gov
 
Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission
 
MEMBER ALTERNATE
Honorable John Arway
Executive Director
PA Fish & Boat Commission
1601 Elmerton Avenue
P.O. Box 67000
Harrisburg, PA 17106-7000
jarway@pa.gov
Heather Smiles
Chief, Division of Enviro. Services
PA Fish & Boat Commission
595 E Rolling Ridge Dr
Bellefonte, PA 16823
hsmiles@pa.gov
 
Pennsylvania Game Commission
 
MEMBER ALTERNATE
Honorable Bryan Burhans
Executive Director
PA Game Commission
2001 Elmerton Avenue
Harrisburg, PA 17110-9797
bburhans@pa.gov
Michael R. DiMatteo, Chief
Division of Environmental Planning & Habitat Protection
PA Game Commission
2001 Elmerton Avenue
Harrisburg, PA 17110-9797
mdimatteo@pa.gov
 
Public Utility Commission
 
MEMBER ALTERNATE
Honorable Gladys Brown
Chairman
Public Utility Commission
Keystone Building, 3rd Floor
400 North Street
Harrisburg, PA 17105
gmb@pa.gov
Andrew Place
Vice Chairman
Public Utility Commission
Keystone Building
400 North Street
Harrisburg, PA 17120
aplace@pa.gov
 
Historical and Museum Commission
 
MEMBER ALTERNATE
Honorable Andrea Bakewell Lowery
Executive Director
Historical and Museum Commission
Room 501, William Penn Memorial
Museum Building, 330 North Street
Harrisburg, PA 17120
anlowery@pa.gov
Douglas McLearen
Chief, Division of Archaeology & Protection
Historical and Museum Commission
Keystone Building
400 North Street, 2nd Floor
Harrisburg, PA 17120
dmclearen@pa.gov
 
Governor's Office of Policy and Planning
The Director of the Governor's Policy Office serves as Executive Director of the State Planning Board, which holds a seat on the EQB.
 
MEMBER ALTERNATE
Honorable Sarah Galbally
Secretary
Governor's Office of Planning and Policy
Room 238, Main Capitol Building
Harrisburg, PA 17120
sgalbally@pa.gov
Sam Robinson
Senior Policy Analyst
Governor's Office of Planning and Policy
Room 601, Main Capitol Building
Harrisburg, PA 17120
sdrobinson@pa.gov
 
Citizens Advisory Council
 
MEMBER ALTERNATE
Cynthia Carrow
Western Pennsylvania Conservancy
800 Waterfront Drive
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
ccarrow@paconserve.org

William C. Fink
5714 Raystown Road
Hopewell, PA 16650
wfink@cvff.com

John Walliser, VP
PA Environmental Council
2124 Penn Avenue
2nd Floor
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
jwalliser@pecpa.org

Donald Welsh
203 Wiltshire Drive
Kennett Square, PA 19348
donaldswelsh@gmail.com

VACANT
Jim Sandoe
1181 Joann Avenue
Ephrata, PA 17522
cjsandoe@yahoo.com

Jim Welty
1236 Lindy Terrace
Boiling Springs, PA 17007
jwelty@marcelluscoalition.org
 
General Assembly
 
MEMBER ALTERNATE
Honorable Gene Yaw
Senate of Pennsylvania
Republican Chairman, Senate Environmental
Resources and Energy Committee
Senate Post Office Box 203023
Harrisburg, PA 17120-3023
gyaw@pasen.gov

Honorable John T. Yudichak
Senate of Pennsylvania
Democratic Chairman, Senate Environmental
Resources and Energy Committee
Senate Post Office Box 203014
Harrisburg, PA 17120-3014
yudichak@pasenate.com

Honorable John Maher
Pennsylvania House of Representatives
Republican Chairman, House Environmental
Resources and Energy Committee
House Post Office Box 202040
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2040
jmaher@pahousegop.com

The Honorable Michael B. Carroll
Pennsylvania House of Representatives
Democratic Chairman, House Environmental
Resources and Energy Committee
House Post Office Box 202118
Main Capitol Building
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2118
mcarroll@pahouse.net
Adam Pankake
Republican Executive Director
Senate Environmental Resources and Energy Committee
Senate Post Office Box 203023
Harrisburg, PA 17120-3023
apankake@pasen.gov

Joanne Manganello
Democratic Executive Director
Senate Environmental Resources and Energy Committee
Senate Post Office Box 203014
Harrisburg, PA 17120-3014
jmanganello@pasenate.com

Jonathan Lutz
Republican Executive Director
House Environmental Resources and Energy Committee
House Post Office Box 202040
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2040
jlutz@pahousegop.com

Richard Fox
Democratic Executive Director
House Environmental Resources and Energy Committee
House Post Office Box 202118
Main Capitol Building
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2118
RFox@pahouse.net

DEP Staff

Kim Childe, Director, Bureau of Regulatory Counsel
Jessica Shirley, Director, Policy Office
Laura Edinger, Regulatory Coordinator

Board Contact Information

Environmental Quality Board
16th Floor, RCSOB
P.O. Box 8477
Harrisburg, PA 17105-8477
(717) 787-4526